Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Monauman

Use of loops and conditional if/else to query a table :Need Help!

I have a  table extract in Excel of Requirement IDs alongwith their compliance statuses(two separate columns). However, I am try to write a query to achieve the following:

1) For a requirement ID to be Satisfied, all Verification Actions(VAs) (each line in the spreadsheet) associated with that requirement have a status of Satisfied or Intent to satisfy.

2) If any VA is blank, partially satisfied, or not satisfied, then the requirement is not satisfied.

I am new to using PowerQuery but am struggling to code on how to loop the table and use if/else statements to come up with a solution. Any help would be much appreciated.

Sample table listed below:

Req IDFinal VA - Verification Status
721720Intent to Satisfy
721728Satisfied
1293425Satisfied
1293424Satisfied
714813Satisfied
714814Satisfied
714823Satisfied
721732Satisfied
1317341Satisfied

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yanjiang-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Monauman ,

According to your description, here's my solution.

In your sample, there're almost no duplicate rows in requirement ID, so I create a sample.

vkalyjmsft_0-1664350374662.png

Here's my solution.

1.Add a custom column.

Custom = if [#"Final VA - Verification Status"]="Satisfied" then 1 else if[#"Final VA - Verification Status"]="Intent to Satisfy" then 1 else 0

2.Group the custom column by the Req ID column.

Group Rows= Table.Group(#"Added Custom", {"Req ID"}, {{"Group", each _[Custom]}})

3.Add a custom column.

Custom = if List.Contains([Group],0)then "NotSatisfy" else "Satisfy"

Result:

vkalyjmsft_1-1664350722252.png

4.Merge queries.