Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

delphinew
Helper III
Helper III

Sum a multiplication with if

Hi everyone, 

I am a newbie at Power BI, very used to Qlik but have to change software. 

I have an issue with a formula of that type : sum(quantity*if(cost_a<>0;cost_a;cost_b)). To do that, I have 2 tables :

- TRANSACTION

- ARTICLES

as shown below

Capture.PNG

I highlighted the column needed for the calculation. I then want to have the result of course for each product but also for each type of client (as you can see, the column is sadly empty) :

Capture2.PNG

I tried to combine the IF function with the SUM, the SUM with FILTER, and didn't succeed to anything. I guess I don't know how to use the IF function properly. If anyone could help me on that issue, it would be great !

Thank you very much for your help, 

Delphine

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@delphinew Try like. maxx

sumx(SUMMARIZE(ARTICLES;ARTICLES[ART_code];"M1";maxx(ARTICLES;if('ARTICLES'[ART_PRI]<>0; 'ARTICLES'[ART_PRI];'ARTICLES'[ART_PRI_Exact]));
 "M2";sum('TRANSACTION'[V_qte]));[M1]*[M2])

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
V-pazhen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@delphinew 

Try combine with your actual model, I am not clear of how is your model looks like but try something like this:

Measure = 
var costtable = SUMMARIZE('Transaction','Transaction'[ART_code], 'Transaction'[Product], 'Transaction'[Client Type],'Transaction'[Cost a], 'Transaction'[Cost b],"Cost", IF('Transaction'[Cost a]<>0,'Transaction'[Cost a],'Transaction'[Cost b]))

Return SUMX(ALLEXCEPT(costtable,[product],[client type]),'Transaction'[Quantity]*[Cost])

The idea is create a column of actual cost, you can store it in the measure like above using Summarize, or just create a calculated column in the transaction table: