Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

SQL View vs Star Schema Model

Power BI newbie here with a hypothetical question.  If, instead of building out a star schema model within Power BI, I created a single view in SQL Server that joined the fact and dimensions in the underlying query the same way that I would have modeled it in Power BI anyway, is there any functionality loss within Power BI if I just import that single view?

I'll toy around with this on my own, but I figured I'd ask here since I'm not well-versed with all of the expected functionality yet...so I might overlook something initially.

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous- yes that is fair to say.

Power BI/Tabular models can't see how your database behind the view is structures - it only see the table(s) you add to the model.

/sdjensen

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
v-lili6-msft
Community Support
Community Support

hi, @Anonymous

If you model in SQL and import it(data) into power bi, you also need to do some model for it unless you use live connection to connect to the model.  and when you import data, it has the full functionality, only DirectQuery and Live connection will have some

limitations on modeling. 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/desktop-directquery-about

Best Regards,

Lin

Community Support Team _ Lin
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Hi @Anonymous,

I would ALWAYS build a Star Schema model - try reading this article from SQLBI.com. It describes just one of the issues you can have with not building a Star Schema model: https://www.sqlbi.com/articles/understanding-dax-auto-exist/

Conclusion from the article is: