Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DavidS524
Helper I
Helper I

Report Builder Parameter Formatting (Datetime to Date)

Hello everyone,

I am attempting to do something which should be rather simple, but I am new to Report Builder/Paginated reports. 

Quick Overview: I want to have a parameter which is a dropdown list of dates in date format ("yyyy-mm-dd"). Time should not be shown at the end. I also do not want the calendar date selector in this case. 

Long Overview: I currently have taken the following steps to try and get this to work. I have tried multiple variations with similar  results but this is where I am at right now.

1. A date parameter labeled DateParam set to data type text with the specified value pointed to a datetime field in my dataset.

2. Under Dataset properties->Parameters I have a parameter labeled as "Date" with an expression of: =FORMAT((Parameters!DateParam.Value), "yyyy-mm-dd")

3, This results in an error message when I try to run the report: The Value expression for the query parameter 'Date' contains an error: The expression references the parameter 'DateParam', which does not exist in the Parameters collection. Letters in the names of parameters must use the correct case.

This error does not make sense to me since underneath Parameters it clearly shows "DateParam". Some searches for the error led me to discussions on changing the order of parameters where one relies on the other in order to solve it. However, in my case I only have one at this point.

Param1.jpgParam2.jpgParam3.jpgParam4.jpgParam5.jpg

Any tips on how to resolve this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@sevenhills