Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Syndicate_Admin
Administrator
Administrator

RLS Error in Shared Dataset

Good morning, let's see if anyone can clear my doubts.

I have a dataset that 3 different reports feed from.

Two of them I can publish on the (public) web without major problem, however the third one does not even offer me this possibility and only allows me to use the options of "insert report on website or portal".

Consulting in different places they tell me that it is because I have defined RLS security, however at no time have I defined it and I have been working with these reports for more than 3 years. I'm guessing it was triggered in some PowerBI version change.

Is there a way to disable RLS? and Why does it affect only one of the reports and not the rest?

Thank you in advance and best regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-rongtiep-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Syndicate_Admin ,

There are a few possible reasons why RLS might affect only one of your reports and not the rest:

• You might have accidentally created a role with a filter expression in the Manage roles dialog box in Power BI Desktop. To check this, you can open your report file (.pbix) and go to the Modeling tab and click Manage roles. If you see any roles defined there, you can select them and delete them if you don’t need them.
  • You might have enabled dynamic security by using the username () or userprincipalname () DAX functions in your data model. These functions return the current user’s identity and can be used to filter data based on user attributes. To check this, you can open your report file (.pbix) and go to the Data view and look for any columns or measures that use these functions. If you find any, you can remove them or modify them as needed.