Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SVEBE
Regular Visitor

Need to join 2 columns together (column 1 = number, column 2 is initials)

Hi,

I need to be able to join 2 columns.  

Column 1 = invoice number and column 2 = initials of the responsible person.

Extra remark: I DO have in my database: 

- responsible person

- invoice number.

What I do not have = the initials of said responsible person... I'm completely new to this... How do I proceed? 

Thx in advance! 

11 REPLIES 11
rsbin
Super User
Super User

@SVEBE ,

Best to proceed in a step wise fashion.  First create a new Calculated Column to determine the Initials.

You can use a number of different String functions to do this.  These are the same as in Excel if you are familiar with those.

Initials = LEFT( [Name], 1 ) & MID( [Name], ( FIND( " ", [Name],1 ) + 1 ), 1 )

rsbin_0-1685991368772.png

The above formula assumes your Name column only has first and last names.  If you have middle names or initials, you will have to modify the String functions accordingly.

Then create second calculated column to concatenate your Invoice Number to this new Initials column

New Column = [Invoice Number] & "-" & [Initials]

Hope this gets you started in the right direction.

Regards,

SVEBE
Regular Visitor

Hi,

is it possible i get the error, because there is one name in there that has a middle name? (my name....), however: we only need to have 2 digit initials... so for instance "Eddy De Vinck" would be EV... . 

@SVEBE ,

If you read my original reply, I indicated that my quick formula would need to be modified if middle names or initials existed.  To help understand better,

create another calculated column to determine number of spaces:

Spaces = LEN( [Name] )-LEN(SUBSTITUTE( [Name], " ", "" ))