Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

TraceyHowarth

Matrix using multiple data options for rows

I am a complete newbie - sorry.

I want to be able to create a matrix with data like below

Year 1Year 2Year 3
Girls44%45%34%
Traveller50%100%34%
FSM67%66%89%
SEN0%0%10%

The column headings are a single data option in one of my tables but the rows are multiple data options in a table. My first question is how do you get the matrix to look like the above using multiple data options?

Secondly, the rows could have more than one option to be combined. For example Traveller could be Gypsy Roma, Occupational or Other; SEN could be K or E, FSM only needs to be T not F. The percentages come from results in another table.

I need the visual to show year %ages for each of the groups specified, eg how many girls achieved a specific grade, how many travellers (all the options) achieved the grade, how many SEN (K or E but not N) achieved the grade etc. Is this even possible in Power BI Desktop?

Any help (in laymans speak) would be gratefully received.

Tracey

5 REPLIES 5
v-kelly-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @TraceyHowarth

What is your current data model?Can you make a simple sample to me if it's not confidential?

Best Regards,
Kelly

How do I attach my model for you?

I'm sorry I am really new to all this.

Hi @TraceyHowarth ,

you need to add a onedrive, googledrive, dropbox or wetransfer link or similar.

Regards

Miguel Félix

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

Check out my blog: Power BI em Português

MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @TraceyHowarth ,

Depending on how your model is setup the matrix can be achieve in different ways.