Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DavePowerBI
Frequent Visitor

Matrix measure more than 1 value in rows

I am new to Power BI and require help please, In the below Matrix visualisation I am looking to find a way to highlight in colour or similar all the counties that have more than one name under the field ID. For example, On the screenshot i have attached Country UK will be "highlighted" because ID 212 had more than 1 name. Thank you

image001.png

8 REPLIES 8
AUaero
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

Unfortunately, Power BI doesn't have a lot of capability when it comes to formatting row/column headers in a matrix visual.  You can, however, create a measure to drive conditional formatting of the value in the matrix.

I've created two measures - one to count the number of users and another to flag IDs that have multiple users.

# Count Users in ID = DISTINCTCOUNT('DataTable'[Name])
# Highlight Rule = 
IF(
    HASONEFILTER('DataTable'[ID]) && 'DataTable'[# Count Users in ID] > 1, 
)

I then applied a conditional formatting rule to highlight any IDs in the matrix that have more than one unique user:

AUaero_0-1673281696306.png

AUaero_1-1673281722160.png

This will give you the following result in the matrix visual:

AUaero_2-1673281748520.png

If this helps, please consider accepting this response as the solution for your issue.

Thank you, would you happen to have the pbiz file so i can follow and try?

Thank you for your help. I have few additional followup - I have managed to replicate your advice. How am I able to filter the matrix by the highlighted cells only for column #count users in ID? I am not able to find this option like in .xls. Also when I export the Matrix to .csv all I see is loads of  values of  1's,  Thanks