Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

erlesorl

Making a matrix with data from multiple data tables

Hi!

I'm new to Power BI, and have been struggeling a lot with this. I am working on creating a table/matrix which can represent data generated automatically for different devices located in different locations.

What I have is 4 data tables. Each table has a location, a device number, and a custom column on the form (location-device number) in order to have a unique ID for each device. In addition each table also has a date column, containing the 1st date of the month that the data is generated for. Each table contains a variety of different data, which I have been tasked with presenting in a particular way (the file I'm creating is supposed to replace an old solution that the users are very pleased with, but it requires manual work). I believe the problem is the same for all the tables, and that if I can solve it with 2 of them, the others will also be solved. This is a representation of how 2 of the tables look:

table 1:

LocationDevice numberunique_idDatedata1data2
loc101loc1-0101.01.21XXXYYY
loc201loc2-0201.01.21XXYYYX

table 2: 

LocationDevice numberunique_idDatedata3data4
loc101loc1-0101.01.21ZZZAAA
loc201loc2-0201.01.21ZZYAAZ

I have been able to create the layout that i want the data to be presented in, where the columns are the months, and the rows are the locations, with a "drill down" into device numbers (I also used a switch under values, which swapped the data1, data2,... from columns to rows):

Year2021  2022
Location   JanuaryFebruary...Jan...
loc101      
  data1 XXX...... 
  data2 YYY...... 
  data3 ZZZ...... 
  data4 YYY...... 
 02   ...... 
  data1  ...... 
loc201   ...... 
  data1 XXY...... 
  data2 YYX...... 
  data3 ZZY...... 
  data4 AAZ......