Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

VTork
Frequent Visitor

IF Statement, move values between cells

Hi all, 

I'm trying to come up with the right IF And statement for my power query, but I'm still quite new to the tool and having some troubles when trying to find the right DAX formula. Hopefully there's someone here who would be able to help 🙂  

What I'm trying to do is for a value to be added to a specific cell (here Year (2023, 2024 etc) depending on it's value.

- If it's less than 250k, it should be added to the cell that equals "Order Year + 2 years", so if "Order Year" = 2022, the Value should be added to the "2024" columnd. I think I've managed this for now.  
- Next step is where I struggle. If the value is between 250K and 750K, I'd like 250K to be added to the column that equals "Order Year + 2 Years" and the rest to be added to the column that equals "Order Year + 3 years". For example, should the value be 350K and the order year is 2024, I'd like 250K to be added to the 2026 column, and the rest (100K) to be added to the 2025 column. 
- Finally, if the Value is greater than 750K, I'd like it to be added to the column which equals "Order Year + 4 years" - so if the value is 800K and the order year is 2026, the value should be added to the 2030 column. 

Any help will be much appreciated - thanks! 🙂 

3 REPLIES 3
v-stephen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @VTork ,

You could first create a what-if parameter to generate an order year, this can be dynamic, you are free to choose.

vstephenmsft_0-1673231028459.pngvstephenmsft_1-1673231034250.png

If your values are text containing "k", you need to extract the number in the text first.

vstephenmsft_2-1673231319555.png

Year = var _value=MAX('Table'[Value])
var _num=VALUE(LEFT(_value,LEN(_value)-1))