Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

justindoh
Frequent Visitor

How to show filter on dashboard

I am new to Power BI.

I came from Tableau background, and I am trying to find a way to have a filter located within Dashboard.

I searched online for help, but I am not finding a solution.

For Report, filter stays within Filter pane.

What about Dashboard?

Is there a way to show filter?

Thanks.

Justin

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@justindoh , In a report(one that is created on desktop) you can add slicer from visualization)

https://data-flair.training/blogs/power-bi-slicer/

You also have filter pane.

In the power bi service, you can create a dashbaord. In the dashboard, you can only have a slicer if you put the complete report on a dashbaord.

View solution in original post

aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @justindoh 

unlike reports in the service Dahsboards do not support filters, check out the difference

aj1973_0-1617915725797.png

Regards
Amine Jerbi

If I answered your question, please mark this thread as accepted
and you can follow me on
My Website, LinkedIn and Facebook

aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

@justindoh 

Yes and no, it depends on how many reports you would like to combine. Combining too many reports is not a good approach. you can also use Bookmarks and Drillthrough to navigate between pages inside one report. Check out my report here

https://app.powerbi.com/view?r=eyJrIjoiMmFhYWVlMDUtYTk3My00Y2U2LTgwMWEtZDQwNjAyNmQwNjc5IiwidCI6IjgzN...

Regards
Amine Jerbi

and you can follow me on

5 REPLIES 5
aj1973
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @justindoh 

unlike reports in the service Dahsboards do not support filters, check out the difference

aj1973_0-1617915725797.png

Regards
Amine Jerbi

and you can follow me on

@aj1973