Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

juju
Helper III
Helper III

Help to construct Dax formula with conditional inputs

I am looking to calculate the total cost of energy used based on the following usage buckets:

• energy used up to 300 kWh will cost a unit price is $0.x / kwh
  • energy used greater than 300 kWh but less than or equal to 600 kwh will cost a unit price is $0.y / kwh
  • energy used greater than 600 kWh will cost a unit price is $0.z / kwh

I have a table which shows daily total energy ussage. I need to set up a DAX formula which calculates the total daily cost by parsing that  total number into the buckets above and applying the unit costs at each level. I am totally new to DAX so struggling with how to set this up.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Do you really need the hourly data by day?  From what I understand so far, this is not needed.  I suggest you group by day and channel and sum the Value column.  That way you have 1 number by channel by day.   

I have created a summary table using DAX.  You should load your data using Power Query so it is in summary format (not by hour) and not use what I have done.  I have only done this because I don't have access to your source data.

Once I created the summary table, I copied my formula and applied the table name changes.  There was a missing aggregator which I have fixed.  It seems to work.

Here is the file

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t6p9f6mtwu12y2g/Datafile2.pbix?dl=0

Here is the corrected formula

test =
CALCULATE (
    CALCULATE (
        ( SUM ( Summary[qty] ) - MAX ( RatesTable[USAGE FROM] ) )
            * MAX ( RatesTable[RATES] )
            + MAX ( RatesTable[$Amount] ),
        FILTER (
            RatesTable,
            SUM ( Summary[qty] ) < RatesTable[USAGE TO]