Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Grant82
Frequent Visitor

Help on slicing by column name

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to Power BI (I downloaded it for the first time a few weeks ago and have been on youtube since) and I've built a solution and dashboard for an email campaign. Most of it seems to work great, but recently I had an idea for a graph where we show data progressing over time for an area, but instead of showing all areas at one, I want to add a slicer to view one at a time. As I'm very much a beginner, I will post everything I can, in case I need to change my solution in different stages. 

Project Overview

It's a monthly community email called a talent community that includes 2 areas - Culture articles and Job articles. The campaign platform drops a CSV each month of raw data in a network folder. I've setup Excel to check that folder, grab all the CSV's and merge them together into a table called Raw Data. Power BI then connects to that table and pulls the data in - to be displayed in my dashboard. 

Problem

With only doing a 'Get Data from File' I can create some great graphs like the following-

a1.PNG

But what I want to do is take all the Culture Themes click data (a culture theme for example is Diversity, Equality or Legal), and represent them in a line graph, but have a slicer so you need to pick one theme at a time. Here's an example of what I want, but I've tricked it so it's just one Theme setup as opposed to all themes being added, and the slicer doing the work. Hope that makes sense!

a2.PNG

So, when I try to set up the functionaility properly, I have set them up like so - but I can only add in one Theme from the first Raw Data table - when I try to add in more they just replace the first theme instead of adding to. 

a3.PNG