Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

koenjinosora
Regular Visitor

HELP PLEASE! Create columns based on grouped ID

Dear all, 

Nice to meet you. I am a beginner in Power BI and this is my first message. 

I have been searching a way to pivot my table as below, but I could not find the solution yet. 

What I have now is a table with 3 columns like this: 

ID X Y
1 34536 57574
1 27192 84732
1 89607 80505
2 61718 98192
2 73829 74628

I would like to group the ID and have new columns for each occurrence of X and Y, like this: 

ID X_1 Y_1 X_2 Y_2 X_3 Y_3
1 34536 57574 27192 84732 89607 80505
2 61718 98192 73829 

Thank you very much in advance for your precious help! 

Best regards, 

Antoine 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
mussaenda
Super User
Super User

Hi @koenjinosora,

What you need is not impossible.

Please try the code below and paste to a Blank Query Advance Editor

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("Pcu5DcAwDEPRXVS7sE5Ksxjef41YDpLqAR/kWsQ0SM01jg6H0R5vFXDJMQ0qf82KiXb69Ft7EwzOY2V/vgpNqdZCkvZ+AA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [ID = _t, X = _t, Y = _t]),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(Source, {"ID"}, {{"ALL", each _, type table [ID=nullable number, X=nullable number, Y=nullable number]}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Grouped Rows", "Custom", each Table.AddIndexColumn([ALL], "IndexByID", 1)),
    #"Expanded Custom" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Added Custom", "Custom", {"X", "Y", "IndexByID"}, {"X", "Y", "IndexByID"}),
    #"Unpivoted Only Selected Columns" = Table.Unpivot(#"Expanded Custom", {"X", "Y"}, "Attribute", "Value"),