Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

koenjinosora
Regular Visitor

HELP PLEASE! Create columns based on grouped ID

Dear all, 

Nice to meet you. I am a beginner in Power BI and this is my first message. 

I have been searching a way to pivot my table as below, but I could not find the solution yet. 

What I have now is a table with 3 columns like this: 

ID X Y
1 34536 57574
1 27192 84732
1 89607 80505
2 61718 98192
2 73829 74628

I would like to group the ID and have new columns for each occurrence of X and Y, like this: 

ID X_1 Y_1 X_2 Y_2 X_3 Y_3
1 34536 57574 27192 84732 89607 80505
2 61718 98192 73829 

Thank you very much in advance for your precious help! 

Best regards, 

Antoine 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
mussaenda
Super User
Super User

Hi @koenjinosora,

What you need is not impossible.

Please try the code below and paste to a Blank Query Advance Editor

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("Pcu5DcAwDEPRXVS7sE5Ksxjef41YDpLqAR/kWsQ0SM01jg6H0R5vFXDJMQ0qf82KiXb69Ft7EwzOY2V/vgpNqdZCkvZ+AA==", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [ID = _t, X = _t, Y = _t]),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(Source, {"ID"}, {{"ALL", each _, type table [ID=nullable number, X=nullable number, Y=nullable number]}}),
    #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Grouped Rows", "Custom", each Table.AddIndexColumn([ALL], "IndexByID", 1)),
    #"Expanded Custom" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Added Custom", "Custom", {"X", "Y", "IndexByID"}, {"X", "Y", "IndexByID"}),
    #"Unpivoted Only Selected Columns" = Table.Unpivot(#"Expanded Custom", {"X", "Y"}, "Attribute", "Value"),
    #"Added Custom1" = Table.AddColumn(#"Unpivoted Only Selected Columns", "Custom", each [Attribute] & "_" & Number.ToText([IndexByID])),