Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Borntoreport
Helper II
Helper II

Group values

Hello,

i have converted my dates into numbers like 20160122. In my company the business year starts in october. How can i group the converted dates with a new columns like value of column A between 20151001 and 20160930 equals "Business Year 2015/16" in column B. The same for "Business Year 2014/15" which equals 20141001 and 20150930. I am new with Power BI and starting to learn the DAX-Functions. Do you have any recommendations?

In general I have the problem that Power BI does not convert my date data in the right way. I have tried to convert them from text fields into date fields, but the results are always errors.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sorry Borntoreport,

I skipped your question about the conversion. To solve it you have to:

1) Split the column by number of characters ( Transform -> Split columns -> By number of characters) with:

- "4" as Number of character (to indicate the year)

- "Once, as far left as possible" as Split

2) Re-split the right column by number of characters with:

- 2 as number of character (to separate the month from the day)

3) After that you have three columns (year-month-day)

4) All you have to do is merge the columns (Add column -> Merge columns) with a custom separator/tab/space (as you want)

5) Finally you select the column and change the data type into date.

I remind to you that I'm not an expert, certainly there is a DAX formula to do it.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Sorry Borntoreport,

I skipped your question about the conversion. To solve it you have to:

1) Split the column by number of characters ( Transform -> Split columns -> By number of characters) with:

- "4" as Number of character (to indicate the year)