Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Find everything you need to get certified on Fabric—skills challenges, live sessions, exam prep, role guidance, and more. Get started

mwyller
Regular Visitor

Data

Hello friends,

I'm new to Power BI and am working on my 1st report.
I’ve searched for discussions that might answer my question, but being new ‘I don’t know what I don’t know’ yet and can’t find a similar posting..

I have one slicer for ‘State’ that works fine.
I’m trying to add a slicer for ‘Test Type’, but it doesn’t work. I believe it’s due to the structure of my table but I’m not sure how to modify it.

Here’s my report:

data.jpg

Here’s my data:

table.jpg

I appreciate any comments!

4 REPLIES 4
BhaveshPatel
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @mwyller

You can use the values of the single column in the slicer. If you would like to filter your reports for different test type, You need to create a new slicer for each test type ( Multiple Slicers) or Alternatively, You can create new tables that supports the relationship with each of your test type  or You can use the query editor to unpivot all the test type in your table and that can give you the desired result.

Hope this helps!

Thanks,

Bhavexh

Thanks & Regards,
Bhavesh

Love the Self Service BI.
Please use the 'Mark as answer' link to mark a post that answers your question. If you find a reply helpful, please remember to give Kudos.
Ashish_Mathur
Super User
Super User

Hi,

Your data is not well structured.  The dataset will have to be unpivoted to convert it to a 5 column one - the last two columns being Test type and Response.  Then you must create a relatioship form the Test type column of this unpivoted dataset to the Test type column of the table (from where you have built the slicer).

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Ashish Mathur
http://www.ashishmathur.com
https://www.linkedin.com/in/excelenthusiasts/
pxg08680
Resolver III
Resolver III

@mwyller