Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

willson98
Frequent Visitor

Create opening and closing stock for each month for each material

Hi everyone,

I am still relatively new to Power BI, and I really need help in creating a column (or measure) to define the opening stock and closing stock of each material for each month. Attached is a screenshot of part of the query table that I have developed so far. 1.PNG

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous, thank you for the response. Now I am trying to summarize these data into a visual. These data are forecasted data, and what I am trying to achieve is to show if the closing stock each coming month exceeds the maximum capacity of the warehouse. However, when I put in the measure into the visualization, it gives me strange huge number, like total for closing stock in January is 700+, which is impossible. You can refer to the attached images below. Is there anything wrong with my method? Thanks!2.PNG3.PNG

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Whether you create a column or measure will depend how you want to use the result.  Here are some quick measures i've written:

Pallets In = SUM('YourTable'[Pallets Issued In])
Pallets Out = SUM('YourTable'[Pallets Issued Out])
openingStock = 
VAR filterEndDate = LASTDATE('YourTable'[Date])
VAR monthStart = DATE(YEAR(filterEndDate), MONTH(filterEndDate), 1)
RETURN

CALCULATE(
	[Pallets In] - [Pallets Out],
	ALLEXCEPT('YourTable', 'YourTable'[Material Code]),
	'YourTable'[Date] < monthStart
)
closingStock = 
VAR filterEndDate = LASTDATE('YourTable'[Date])
VAR monthEnd = IF(
    MONTH(filterEndDate) = 12,
    DATE(YEAR(filterEndDate) + 1, 1, 1),
    DATE(YEAR(filterEndDate), MONTH(filterEndDate) + 1, 1)
)
RETURN

CALCULATE(
	[Pallets In] - [Pallets Out],