Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

PS23
Regular Visitor

Counting values across multiple rows based on primary column

I'm new to PowerBI and in reading through a lot of the answers to other similar topics, there are a lot of strings of codes but not great details on the how and why of the solutions.  Appreciative of any help.

I have a large table with many columns, and I'm trying to create a visualization based on a subset. It's similar to the below chart. I've created a new table to remove duplicates and create a column of the distinct values, and I'm trying to get a count of the instances of that first column's values appearing across all other rows:

LanguagePrimary CountrySecondary CountryTertiary Country
EnglishEnglandUSAScotland
SpanishSpainMexicoUSA
FrenchFranceHaitiCanada

So I have another table with the first column set to have a list of distinct values (Canada, England, Scotland, etc.), What I need is a way to count the instances of each country within the dataset and across multiple rows, so I wind up with a list that has a country name and a value of how many times total it appears. My actual table has a lot more than 3 columns.

Thank you for any advice or possible solutions!

6 REPLIES 6
PS23
Regular Visitor

I managed to track down part of an answer but it didn't solve the entire issue. I can expand on the sample table I included but that's the only example I can give. My half-solution is calculating a union table that combines all the primary-secondary-and so on columns into one, then counts the rows that match the distinct values drawn from those columns.

So while my first table looks like

DateLanguagePrimary CountrySecondary CountryTertiary Country
1/1/01EnglishEnglandUSAScotland
2/2/02SpanishSpainMexicoUSA
3/3/03FrenchFranceHaitiCanada

My expected output looks like

England1
USA2
Scotland1