Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

CS4

Constellation schema report both fact tables

Hi,

CS4_0-1698659487503.png

I have the above model (very much simplified for this example): two fact tables, linked by a dimension table, all with CustomerID field. Both fact tables have OrderID.

Fact table A has volumes delivered to each customer depot - a customer can have many depots. Each order to a depot would have its own OrderID.  Fact table B has volumes returned by customers, with the OrderID, but no depot.

I have been asked to report on volumes returned from each customer depot, i.e. I need to somehow "link" the OrderID in each fact table when there is no actual link.  The report would be e.g. a simple table with: customer, depot, volume ordered, volume returned.

I'm fairly new to DAX.  Can I use something like Crossfilter or Treatas or another function?

Or do I need to scrap the model and merge the fact tables into one, which would be a big headache?

All help gratefully received.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @CS4 

If OrderID is unique in FactDeliveries, it can already be used as a dimension table.

I created an inactive one-to-many relationship between FactDeliveries and FactReturns on OrderID.

1 measure is required:

Returned = 
    CALCULATE(
        SUM( 'FactReturns'[Volume Returned] ),
        USERELATIONSHIP( 'FactReturns'[OrderID], 'FactDeliveries'[OrderID] )
    )

I hope I understood your requirements.  Let me know if you have any questions.

2 Fact Tables.pbix

View solution in original post

CS4

Hi gmsamborn,

This is just what I was looking for.