Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Davacer

Complex exercise: Automating reports in PowerBI Desktop

Hello everyone and Happy New Year with 10 days late 😂,

To put this into context, I'm new to the world of PowerBI, Desktop at the moment, but I've heard a lot about it. Today, I'm faced with an exercise that seems quite complex but is feasible in the context of a company selling software for which I need to extract data:

I'm looking to create reports to enhance visibility of Opportunity Changes by Channel, Quarter, Country, Partner, Revenue amount/type, and Opportunity process stage based on a 5-week rolling lookback.

Specifically, I need to:

• Extract CSV data from a database every week.
  • Clean up/improve this data (replace "." with ",", add a total revenue column by adding 2 columns).
  • Create a link between previous extracts and new ones
  • Highlight, week by week, the above-mentioned developments (Eg. The point is to understand that "opportunity X", extracted 2 weeks ago, has evolved from "Open" to "Lost". But also, to show that there are #N new opportunities, etc...).

And above all, automate these tasks, from the moment of extraction, to the moment of viewing the data.

I know how perilous this exercise can be, but here are my requests:

• Do you know if it's possible to perform these tasks with PowerBI?

If so, please let me know:

• Do you know of any resources that can provide me with the knowledge without taking days of training?
  • Would you be able to share with me some tips on how to achieve my goal?

I would like to thank anyone who can help me with any of these tasks.
Have a nice day!

1 REPLY 1
amustafa
Super User
Super User

Hi @dev