Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

niemis
Frequent Visitor

Color the Row titles based off a specific field

I created a matrix table in power bi desktop.  In my Rows, I have text 'Tier x', for Tiers 1, 2 and 3.  Beneath each Tier is a specific application.  I want to change the color of the application name, in the row, to reflect whether or not it is Tier 1, 2 or 3.  

My column values are colored - based on conditional formatting.  Is there a way to color the fields under the Tiers?  For example, Tier 1 apps would be green, Tier 2 apps would be yellow, etc. 

niemis_1-1687372846913.png

I'm still a beginner, but am happy learning 🙂  Thank you for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Ritaf1983
Super User
Super User

Hi @niemis 
Conditional formatting is functionality that applies only to values and totals.
Furthermore, the headings of rows cannot be separated into different colors.
Alternatively, you can build a measure to give a category, add it to the matrix, and then apply conditional formatting to it.

Ritaf1983_0-1687744383201.png

If this helps the steps you can follow:

1. create measure :

subCatvalue = if(ISFILTERED('Table'[SubCat]), SELECTEDVALUE('Table'[SubCat]),"")
2. put it as value to the matrix
Ritaf1983_1-1687744514555.png

3. Format it based on first level category

Ritaf1983_2-1687744581317.png

Link to a sample file 

If this post helps, then please consider Accepting it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
niemis
Frequent Visitor