Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

Tie-Tie
Frequent Visitor

Advanced filter based on variable and multiple tables

Hello,

I'm very new to PowerBi and would like to explore the possibilities with it.

I'm working on a small project where I created multiple weather stations equipped with sensors. 

All data is stored into the following overview:

• Raw Data: Contains raw sensor data (time series) sent by the sensors
  • Sensor: Table with overview of all sensors being used (e.g. DHT11, a Humidity sensor)
  • WeatherStation: A small composition of sensors and housing which are located in different places
  • StationSensorMap: mapping between weather stations and sensors; shows which sensors are installed on the weather station
  • Forecast: I wrote a simple script that performs a forcast based on the latest values received in the raw sensor table. The result per station is stored in the table

What I've done so far in a report:

• Graph that shows forcasting (graph 1)
  • Graph that shows all raw data (graph 2)
  • Slicer containing all sensors to filter graph 2
  • Slicer containing time to filter graph 1 & graph 2 (therefore I created a TimeTable table to control both graphs)

I added next a functionality to drillthrough from graph 1 by using the forcasting (returns WeatherStationName)

Now I want to fill the second report with the same graphs. The forecasting curve went easily. How could I filter the slicer containing sensors to only a selection of sensors that are equiped on the Weather Station? Graph 2 has to show the raw values of sensors inside this list (which can be filtered by the user as well).

Concrete actions should be: 

1. Get the selected value (got from research that using a Measure is the way to do this; I'm able to do this
     - Contains name of weather station (e.g. Houston1)