Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

ibutur
Frequent Visitor

A web API key can only be specified when a web API key name is provided.

Hi guys,

I'm trying to connect to a database on Klipfolio. I'm using my ID as explained here:

https://klipfolio-api-reference-guide.readme.io/docs/data-source-instances-data

so, it's https://app.klipfolio.com/api/1.0/datasource-instances/{id}/data

I'm using this as Access web content. But when I enter the API Key in the Web API area, I get the following error message:

A web API key can only be specified when a web API key name is provided.

What does this mean? What do I need to do?

24 REPLIES 24
ImkeF
Super User
Super User

Hi @akashgera ,
I studied the values that you're passing in the body and they don't look right to me. Also, I don't think that you can pass nested JSON objects via the Text.ToBinary-function.
 Instead, you should use the Json.FromValue function with a proper record like so:

RequestBody=
[
skuCodes = { },
fromDate = "18/06/2021 15:40:30",
toDate = "23/06/2021 15:40:30",
pageNumber = 1,
dropShipFlag = "no",
locCode = ""
]

webdata = Web.Contents(url, [Content = Json.FromValue(RequestBody), Headers=header]),

As you can see, the M language in Power Query uses the opposite characters to define lists/arrays and records compared to JSON:
{ } defines an empty list/array and [ ] a record.

Imke Feldmann (The BIccountant)

If you liked my solution, please give it a thumbs up. And if I did answer your question, please mark this post as a solution. Thanks!

How to integrate M-code into your solution -- How to get your questions answered quickly -- How to provide sample data -- Check out more PBI- learning resources here -- Performance Tipps for M-queries

Hi @ImkeF 

I need your help in executing the below query which will generate the access token using power query.