Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Chris_Cools
Frequent Visitor

1 fact table or 2 tables to see in which month orders come in and in which month they get invoiced?

Hello,

i'm new to Power BI coming from Qlikview where the datamodel was built so many years ago by our software provider with all facts in 1 large table, handling facts by different facttypes.

From what i read and find online Power BI works better with multiple fact-tables for each process.

i'm testing now and came up with this:

Chris_Cools_0-1689956056335.png

Now i can't get my head around what to do if i want to calculate what part of certain orders is allready invoiced.

For example i want to know for all orders that came in month X, what part is allready invoiced and also in what month has that been invoiced.

Or for example the same logic but not compared against time, compared against Customer:

What part of customers orders has allready been invoiced.

What do i do in need to do with the model to make this possible?

Do i need to introduce in the invoice table the order date for the order where the invoiceline was based on?

Do i need to put them in 1 table instead of seperate ones?

I have a sample file here:

sample file 

Thanx a lot! all aid or pointers are appreciated!!

Chris

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

You can create an Inactive Many to Many relationship and then use USERELATIONSHIP function in a DAX measure. https://www.youtube.com/@SQLBI/search?query=userelationship

aj1973_0-1690124958012.png

Or you can add a bridge table between the 2 Facts, the table should contain a none duplicate Order number coming from the FactOrders.

https://www.youtube.com/@SQLBI/search?query=bridge%20table

Regards
Amine Jerbi

If I answered your question, please mark this thread as accepted
and you can follow me on