Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Kurt_C

Using Custom Dates for Visuals based on FIltered Report Date

Hello,

I am new to PowerBI and have been reading through documentation and DAX trainings to learn as quickly as possible, but I have yet to find a good way to go about what I am looking to do. Any assistance is appreciated!

The intention for this report is to display 5 visualisations, namely line graphs that display information from the last 5 business days in relation to the filtered date on the report. For example, if the end user selects Tuesday as the date for the report, I want the visualisations to display data from the prior Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and the Monday (day before).

I've tried several items, but the closest I've come is by building a nested IF statement (yes I'm aware a SWITCH would be cleaner) that does return the date I'm looking for, but when I attempt to use that as the filter for the graph, it doesn't automatically pull the information from that date, it just presents a date filter. Screenshot 1 is what the overall report looks like (you can disregard dates), screenshot 2 is the formula for the first graph, and then screenshot 3 is what the formula looks like as a filter.

The intention is for the report to require as minimal end user interaction as possible, so I don't want them to have to manually select the filter dates for each graph if possible. Thanks again for the assistance!

Screenshot 1:

Kurt_C_0-1685729513522.png

Screenshot 2:

Kurt_C_1-1685729545976.png

Screenshot 3:

Kurt_C_2-1685729587930.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-tangjie-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @Kurt_C ,

According to your description, here are my steps you can follow as a solution.

(1) This is my test data. 

vtangjiemsft_0-1685933356713.png