Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

einrikr
Frequent Visitor

IF value is x then a and if value is y then b

Hi all,

I think I'm massively overcomplicating my problem but as I'm quite new to DAX, I'd love to learn what I'm doing wrong.

I want to do something presumably extremely basic, but can't fathom how to do it...

My report has a column with 2 possible values: audit, or regulatory. Based on these values, I want to retreive values in other columns. If the value is 'audit', I want to retreive the deadline for testing purposes, stored in column 'validation deadline audit'. 

If the valuw is 'regulatory', I want to retreive the deadline in column 'validation deadline regulatory'. 

It seems pretty simple to do but I don't get what I'm supposed to be using. Can anyone of you help please?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @einrikr ,

I am going to assume that you want to evaluate everything on the same row. I would create a new calculated column.

Deadline = if([ColumnNameAuditorRegulatory]="Audit",[valididation deadline audit],[validatation deadline regulatory])

-Paul

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @einrikr ,

I am going to assume that you want to evaluate everything on the same row. I would create a new calculated column.

Deadline = if([ColumnNameAuditorRegulatory]="Audit",[valididation deadline audit],[validatation deadline regulatory])

-Paul

Anonymous
Not applicable

Show the data model. We need to know how your tables are linked.

Best
D

Thanks for your reply @Anonymous darlove, see below.

It's all in one table, but somehow I still don't get what I should do... 

snip.PNG

Anonymous
Not applicable

@einrikr 

If it's all in one table, you can definitely use my formula above.

It certainly did, thank you very much!