Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Relannes
Frequent Visitor

How can I find the difference between two filtered values?

Hello! I'm from Brazil, so I'm sorry if some images are in portuguese or if my english is bad (and I'm also new to Power BI so be patient with me hehe).

But basically i need to calculate the difference between two values, but each of them are going to be switching according selection on an external filter. To better understand my issue:

1) My data base is a bunch of Index columns (1201,1202,1203...) with different values in each line that correspond to a date. So on March/2013, the index 1201 was 100,524. On April/2013 was 101,485, and so on.

Relannes_2-1663980802380.png

2) I'd like to create some sort of calculator, so Power BI could show me the difference between values of an index on different dates. For example:

1. The index 1201 value on march/2013 = 100,524
  2. The index 1201 value on march/2014 = 113,289
  3. The difference = 12,765

The thing is that the date is going to be changing at all times through an external filter, so the subtraction has to change accordingly.

HOW I'VE TRIED TO DO ( and failed D; )

At first I've created two measures to return the values already being effected by the filters. For example, the measure "Index 1201 according Data Filter" returns to me the index 1201 value according to the selected date, in this case, april of 2013. I used CALCULATE and ALLSELECTED to do that.

Relannes_6-1663983147588.png

The other measure is basically the same, but it's another filter that also corresponds to a date but through a Project Number (i guess the data base in this case it's not relevant).

Relannes_7-1663983283692.png

After that i've tried to create the measure below but it's not working:

Relannes_5-1663982792623.png