Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

lopa30
Frequent Visitor

Count of blanks showing up as 1 but want 0

Hello,

I am new to Power BI and was having some trouble using measures.

I have a table with multiple columns including:

Sl.NoDateNew Item ID
1March 2023A123
2March 2023A124
3April 2023 
4May 2023A226

I want to create a line graph with the number of new items per month but when I use the count of new items, it shows that there is an item for April 2023 even though there shouldn't be (1 instead of 0).

I tried creating a measure:

IF(ISBLANK(Table1['New Item ID']), 0, DISTINCTCOUNT(Table1['New Item ID']))

However, I was getting an error: A single value for column 'New Item ID' in table 'Table 1' cannot be determined. This can happen when a measure formula refers to a column that only contains many values without specificying an aggregration such as min, max, count or sum to get a single result.

I also tried the measure: DISTINCTCOUNT(Table1['New Item ID']) + 0 and that shows 1 for blank values (like April 2023) as well.

Thank you

11 REPLIES 11
johnt75
Super User
Super User

You can use DISTINCTCOUNTNOBLANK(Table1['New Item ID']) + 0 

Thank you. I tried that as well and it is still showing as 1.

Are you sure that the value is actually blank, and doesn't have a space character or something in it?

tried checking it using Python (pandas) and it is a null value there. Is there a way to check to check on Power BI as well? 

If you go into data view you can click the down arrow in the column header, that will allow you to filter by value, including blank.

Thank you! It seems like it is not blank. Is there a way of checking what exactly is included in the "blanks" as in how many empty spaces? The excel file has blank values so I'm not sure how it changed in power BI.