Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

elaadani
Frequent Visitor

Add row with result of calculation

Hello to all ! I am new to the world of Power Bi. There are things that I still can't figure out if it is possible or how it could be possible.
I currently have the following problem:

I have a table that displays information,
but I need to be able to have a row or a table that shows the result between the operation revenue - Costs (for example, because I have a line that takes out the tax, among other financial calculations that are performed today in excel) , as seen in this image :

elaadani_0-1675184129059.png

Is it possible to have such a revenue - cost line?

Or is it possible to have a separate table with this information? For example, something like this:

elaadani_1-1675184366355.png

thanks in advance

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
scee07
Resolver I
Resolver I

Hi,

basically there is no simple solution to your problem. You must build up some data structure do this. This is all described in the “DAX Patterns” book, chapter 18 “Parent-child hierarchies”.

I will give the explanation with a simpler toy model. You will need an account hierarchy table and the actual bookings/postings for the cost and revenue items

scee07_3-1675251308116.png

You define input table the account id, the account name, the account type (expense or income), the operator (+/-) and the parent key

• Parent key: defines the summation of every child to the parent
  • Operator: defines the summation sign. Here all costs are summed up and all revenue and then the difference is taken.

If you think about it , this is always a tree if you draw all parent child relationships as graph.

Now there are a few calculated columns:

AccountPath =

PATH ( Account[AccountKey], Account[ParentKey] )

Level1 =

VAR LevelNumber = 1

VAR LevelKey =