Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ZSF0003
Helper I
Helper I

Productivity Visual from Excel in PowerBI

Hello everyone,

I'm new to PowerBI. I've completed the DIAD course and watched a few videos on youtube. I'm fluent in Tableau but am working on transitioning my reporting into PowerBI. I've never built anything like this in either program and was curious if you could help me build this in PowerBI.

ZSF0003_0-1662154672828.png

I know I can use a matrix to display employee name, day, and values similar to the first 8 columns, but that's as far as I can go.

Can I create a column in Power Query or something for the Objective column? Or should I create a reference table with employee name and objective to connect to and add the Objective column after values?

Hours absent is a column that requires the manager to manually enter data. Can this be done in PowerBI? My thought was to offer a dropdown for values 0 - 40. In Tableau, I'd use a parameter but I'm not sure how to do this in PowerBI.

Total Tasks is just the sum of daily values. Objective - Absence is the Objective minus (Hours Absent * Objective/40). The final column is the total tasks / objective - absence. Should I create a new measure or new column for these calculations?

Lastly, is it possible to format the matrix in a similar fashion? 

3 REPLIES 3
lbendlin
Super User
Super User

You can format your matrix in a lot of ways, but not all of these make sense or are user friendly.  Coming from Tableau you should be used to a more disciplined approach.

In your case you would use a matrix visual without column fields, only with row fields and individual measures for each of the columns. Are you sure you want to do that?