Forum Discussion
workspaces vs app, what is the difference?
- Anonymous8 years ago
Workspaces: Personal and App
Personal - This is your workspace, don't share any company level reports from here as you are the only one that can access them. Use it for your own reports, or sharing privately.
App - The App workspace was call "Group Workspace" - this workspace allows multiple admins and should be the platform by which you share dashboards or reports to a wider audience. That way, if there are any personell changes, nothing is affected.
Apps - Are a 1 to 1 map to an App workspace and provide end users a read only experiance for the particular objects in the workspace that you want them to see. Valuable way of sharing, and the only way to share if you use the Premium license.
Content Packs - Being deprecated, don't use them. (I'm personally glad these are going away, just a nightmare to manage and changes or delete could cause major issues downstream.)
BTW - you can also now just share a report, you are no longer bound by sharing things via a dashboard.
- Anonymous8 years ago
Rodion Once you publish the app, you just need to go back to the workspace and you should see the "Update App" button in the upper right. Clicking that brings you back to the same dialogue options and you can click on "access" to see who has access to the app. In terms of who can see it, if you toggle the "Entire Organization" - then anyone can. If you select the specific users or groups, you can manage it here any time and just republish the app.
Thanks Anonymous for the clear explanation. This realy helps!
The only thing I don't understand yet, is how to manage the access to an app once you have created it. In the process of creating an app, you can indicate who has access to this app by selecting their email address, but once you have finished this process, I can't find a way for selecting or deselecting other collegues.
Does anyone (within an organisation) that has the link to the app also have access to the app? Or can you manage the access to an app (in the same way that you can manage the access to a workspace) once you have creaded the app?
Rodion Once you publish the app, you just need to go back to the workspace and you should see the "Update App" button in the upper right. Clicking that brings you back to the same dialogue options and you can click on "access" to see who has access to the app. In terms of who can see it, if you toggle the "Entire Organization" - then anyone can. If you select the specific users or groups, you can manage it here any time and just republish the app.