Forum Discussion
workspace upgrade to v2-- queue - start and completion
- 4 years ago
Workspace upgrades are near instant. Only takes a few seconds.
They will have a toolbar that looks like this:and if you go to the workspace settings there will be a DELETE button. You cannot delete Gen1 workspaces from PowerBI.
If you go to the Admin Panel for Power BI and select Workspaces, all new workspaces are of type Workspace. The originals were type Group.
- 4 years ago
Not sure what status you are referring to. If it was upgraded a long time ago, or never upgraded because it was v2 to start with (they stopped allowing v1 workgroup creating long a go) there might not be a status to show.
- 4 years ago
Ahh - ok, thanks for the screenshot.
- The "Bulk Upgrade" dialog at the top is there for everyone, whether you have workspaces eligible for upgrade or not. There is no intelligence to it. Ignore it if you have no workspaces that are Group type.
- I am not sure how long the "completed" status remains. None of my workspaces show it was completed because I did all of mine over a year ago, so I think at some point that history goes away. As long as they are all set to "Workspace" you are good.
also notifications I found-- Upgrade classic workspaces to the new workspaces - Power BI | Microsoft Docs
It is wierd that the only way is to see workspaces instead of group. Thank you for replying and your answer. The TYpe says Workspace but the Status is blank and many say complete. What does Status= blank or complete mean?
- edhans4 years agoCommunity Champion
Not sure what status you are referring to. If it was upgraded a long time ago, or never upgraded because it was v2 to start with (they stopped allowing v1 workgroup creating long a go) there might not be a status to show.