Forum Discussion

Bacon4life's avatar
Bacon4life
Frequent Visitor
5 years ago
Solved

Workspace upgrade and old o365 groups

Hi there,

 

We have some Workspaces that were created in PBI long time ago and are now upgraded to New Workspace. We are still having the "old" groups from 0365 that are having Sharepoint or Outlook accounts. We don't need them, We only need the PBI Workspace.

 

Is it safe to delete those o365 leftovers that were created while initially creating workspace?

 

Thanks a lot, have agreat day 🙂

 

 

  • Hi, Bacon4life 

     

    After upgrading the workspace, if you don't need the old 365 group you can completely delete it, it won't affect your experience in the new workspace. But it should be noted that after upgrading the workspace, each Microsoft 365 group Owner is added individually to the Admin role for the upgraded workspace. The Microsoft 365 group itself is added to a workspace role. If you delete the 365 group you may need to add the role again. Also, if you delete a 365 group, you can no longer revert the new workspace to the old one.

     

    For reference:

    Upgrade classic workspaces to the new workspaces in Power BI 

     

    Enjoy your new workspace experience.😀

     

     

    Best Regards,
    Community Support Team _ Zeon Zheng
    If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly

3 Replies

  • Hi! I have done this in the past. The power bi workspace is still there, so I think that removing the office group won't delete the new experience workspace. The only difference I have is that after changing to the new experience I have also changed the name of the workspace.

    Please be sure to backup your workspace files (.pbix reports or .json dataflows) if you proceed. Just in case. That's a good practice even if all is working as it should be.

    I hope that helps,

  • Hi, Bacon4life 

     

    After upgrading the workspace, if you don't need the old 365 group you can completely delete it, it won't affect your experience in the new workspace. But it should be noted that after upgrading the workspace, each Microsoft 365 group Owner is added individually to the Admin role for the upgraded workspace. The Microsoft 365 group itself is added to a workspace role. If you delete the 365 group you may need to add the role again. Also, if you delete a 365 group, you can no longer revert the new workspace to the old one.

     

    For reference:

    Upgrade classic workspaces to the new workspaces in Power BI 

     

    Enjoy your new workspace experience.😀

     

     

    Best Regards,
    Community Support Team _ Zeon Zheng
    If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly

  • Bacon4life's avatar
    Bacon4life
    Frequent Visitor

    Thanks guys, did as You suggested and all seem to be working fine. No need to do any backups thou, as PBI is completly disconnected from O365.

    Thanks again.