Forum Discussion
Removing user access from workspace delayed or not working
Hi,
I have a Power BI Workspace containing various reports and am slightly puzzled by the behaviour when I add and remove access at the workspace level for users. I'm new to Power BI so may be missing something.
What I've seen is that removing a users access to the workspace does not seem to stop them accessing the reports. Maybe there is some sort of delay, but I removed a user nearly 24 hours ago and they can still access the reports.
I've also seen a similar thing when adding access to users. Eventually it seems to work, but sometimes after considerable time and with inconsistency.
When a user doesn't have access we seem to see the message below which doesn't seem very descriptive:
Is anyone able to shed some light on this for me?
Thanks in advance
2 Replies
- v-cazheng-msft
Community Support
Hi Anonymous,
Yes, you may see some delay of your operations in Power BI service. But normally, you could refresh your browser to see the changes in it. If you see your last operation fail, please try again.
There are many methods to give a user view permission to the report in the workspace in addition to add or remove users from the workspace Access list. For example, directly share the report with its Share feature or share report by workspace app etc. To have a clear clue of users’ permission on the report, you could check their access permissions to a report by the following way. If a user have access to a report, you will see this user listed in the access list of the report. With access permission, users can open the report and view its content.
For more details, you could refer to Manage permissions to a report.
From the screenshot from you, I noticed that you are viewing a paginated report, right? May I know whether your workspace is in a Premium Per User capacity/Premium capacity but not a Shared capacity? What kind of license are you using to view the report? Is it Pro or Premium Per User?
If you don’t see a diamond icon beside your workspace name, then your workspace is in the Shared capacity. If you see the following icon next to your workspace name, it’s in Premium Per User capacity.
If you can see a purely diamond, then the workspace is resided in a Premium capacity.
Paginated reports in not supported in Shared capacity. They need to be published to a Premium Per User capacity workspace or Premium workspace. If the workspace is in a Premium Per User capacity, the viewer need Premium Per User license. If the workspace is in a Premium workspace, Pro license is sufficient to view paginated reports.
If there is any post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly. If I misunderstand your needs or you still have problems on it, please feel free to let me know. Thanks a lot!
Best Regards,
Community Support Team _ Caiyun
- AnonymousNot applicable
Hi Caiyun,
This is very useful, thank you.
Can I just clarify one point regarding licensing. You say above that if the workspace is premium (not premium per user), then the report viewers need a pro license?
We are considered purchasing a premium workspace and have read in the licensing documentation that if the workspace is premium, then users don't need a license at all. To me, this makes more sense. As if we pay for a premium workspace, I wouldn't then expect to have to pay for pro licenses for all users.
Thanks!