Forum Discussion

LuITS's avatar
LuITS
Icon for Helper II rankHelper II
1 year ago
Solved

Personal and normal Workspace Deletion

Hi i read some posts and artikels but i need clarification.

What happens to workspaces when a user leaves the organistaion?

 

Personal workspace:

Am i right that this workspace goes into deletion sate when user leaves org, the retention period starts and after 30 days workspace is permanently deleted? With which action does the status change from active to deleted? (No licence, deletion in active diretory?, ...)

 

Noral Workspace:

User leaves org, if he was admin the workspace gets orphaned. The workspace is not accessible but stay in the service when no further action is done and doesn't get automaticly deleted after some time?

Only when you delete the workspace manually it goes into the reteion period and is permanently deleted after that?

 

Can you please confirm my understanding and tell me when a user and its personal workspace gets deleted?

  • Hi LuITS 


    Personal Workspaces are deleted 30 days after the user is removed from Azure AD (not just license removal). That’s when the retention period starts.

    Normal Workspaces don’t get deleted automatically. If the user was the only admin, the workspace becomes orphaned but stays in place. An admin has to manually reassign ownership or delete it only then does the 30-day deletion countdown begin.

2 Replies

  • Hi LuITS 


    Personal Workspaces are deleted 30 days after the user is removed from Azure AD (not just license removal). That’s when the retention period starts.

    Normal Workspaces don’t get deleted automatically. If the user was the only admin, the workspace becomes orphaned but stays in place. An admin has to manually reassign ownership or delete it only then does the 30-day deletion countdown begin.

    • LuITS's avatar
      LuITS
      Icon for Helper II rankHelper II

      Thank you rohit1991 
      To clearify:

      User is removed from Azure AD ->30 days (retention period) -> permanent deletion

      or

      User is removed -> 30 days -> 30 days (retention period) -> permanent deletion

      Thank you very much