Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ericthibeault

Duplicate dashboard and change report source (or best workflow)

Hi,

I'm new to Power BI desktop and Power BI app.

I want to use Power BI for my A/B tests reports/insights.  

I want to

1. Create a report for each test and
  2. Even better, a dashboard for each test

I managed to create a pbix file with all my reports and visualizations for one test in Power BI desktop.

I'm able to save one report as a new report for another test AND change the data source in order to connect to my raw data from the Excel file of this other test.  Everything is working fine so far.

What I want (if possible) is 

• Publish the report from one test, create a dashboard from this report in Power BI app (this is done)
  • For another test
    • Save my pbix file for another test and connect to another Excel data source (this is done)
    • Publish this report to Power BI app
    • Duplicate my first dashboard and use the newly published report as the source for it

Two questions:

1. Is this possible to do?
  2. Is this the best workflow for what I want to achieve?

Thanks a lot

3 REPLIES 3
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@ericthibeault Rather than changing source of dashboard since you've already got second test report published to power bi service, just pin that to that existing dashboard. Now you have a dashboard with both test reports. You don't have to change source of a dashboard to new report to be able to see new report in existing dashboard.

Thanks for your answer Ankit,

You perfectly understood my actual workflow in Power BI Desktop.

Now, about the dashboard, what I want to do with it is those things: