Forum Discussion

Danalber's avatar
Danalber
Advocate II
2 years ago
Solved

Deployment Pipeline - Remove old content (delete upstream)

Hi,

I want to delete an obsolete report in my DEV environment (could also be a flow or something else), can I deploy this change (delete report) with the pipeline upwards to TEST and PROD? I didn't find anything and seems strange if I have to delete this report individually in each environment. Thought this should also be handled and tracked with the pipeline.

 

 

Anyone had this issue?

Thanks

BR Daniel

 

 

  • Hi Danalber ,

     

    If nothing is there in the dev then how it will compare items of dev with test or prod.If you have deleted report 1 and if you deploying then nothing will flow to next stage and your report will not replaced with nothing.As per my knowledge it's not possible.

     

    Thanks,

    Sai Teja 

6 Replies

  • Hi. Yes, if you deploy it will delete in test what you have removed at dev. It shows a -1 in red to inform you there is a removed item. As the docs says:

    The file content lines are numbered and the lines that were changed are marked as follows:

    • Changes shown in the To be modified stage will be removed or overwritten during the next deployment. They're highlighted in red with a '-' sign next to the number.

    You can read more about the way it compares in here: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/fabric/cicd/deployment-pipelines/compare-pipeline-content?tabs=browser

    I hope that helps

    • Danalber's avatar
      Danalber
      Advocate II

      Hi ibarrau ,

      Thank you for your reply.

      I just tried to deploy, but the deleted flow is not removed in Test. I tried to deploy everything (all changes) or just another flow I wanted to updated but with neither one the change of the deleted flow is pushed upstream. And I cannot selected the delete flow in DEV, as it is deleted.

      What am I missing?

      Thanks again.

      Have a nice day

       

      PS: Just double checked the docu, according to that. Deleted items will not be changed, thus deleting upstream doesn't work?! 😕