Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

andrew-waring
Regular Visitor

Help accessing a specific API

Hi All, I'm relatively new to power query and i've been bashing my head against this problem for a while. I have literally no idea how to access the data on a websites API. I have the client secret and client ID for the api. 

the API documentation can be found here

Uniclass API | NBS (thenbs.com).

There is a Get function defined and a json from an export button at the bottom. 

I've tried all manner of webquerys an json stuff and have sorted it for airtable which seems to be a striaght URL query but this is differnt and to be truthful, i have no idea what i'm doing.

Appreciate this is a big ask but could someone donate some of their time to explain to me like im 5 years old how this works?

4 REPLIES 4
Krazbo

Hi @andrew-waring did you get a working solution to this?

andrew-waring
Regular Visitor

Hi,

Thanks so much for your response. I've followed your instructions as best I can but am getting the error 405 method not allowed for the GetJson = Web.Contents bit. not sure what you mean by scopes. I'm not familiar with API language generally. 

let
 // Concatenates the Consumer Key & Consumer Secret and converts to base64
 authKey = "Basic " & Binary.ToText(Text.ToBinary("xxxxxx:xxxxxx"),0),
 url = "https://toolkit-api.thenbs.com:443/",
 // Uses the Twitter POST oauth2/token method to obtain a bearer token
 GetJson = Web.Contents(url,
     [
         Headers = [#"Authorization"=authKey,
                    #"Content-Type"="application/x-www-form-urlencoded;charset=UTF-8"],
                         Content = Text.ToBinary("grant_type=client_credentials&scope=Get") 

]
 ),
 FormatAsJson = Json.Document(GetJson),
 // Gets token from the Json response