Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Calculate occupancy by half hour for hospital waiting room

I am trying to calculate the waiting room occpuancy at a hospital by half hour intervals using Power Query. I found a solution for hourly occupancy on this board but I when I try to break it down to the half hour level I am getting stuck (I am new to Power Query). I have an Excel file that does this but it's cumbersome and tedious so I am hoping there is a more automated way to do it using Power Query. 

As I mentioned, I want to count people who are in the waiting room during half hour intervals. So if someone checks in at 12:15pm and is roomed at 2:05pm they would be counted in the 12p, 12:30, 1p, 1:30p and 2p groupings. 

I created one dim table with the dates/times (as one date/time field) for each date and all the half hour increments I need. 

Below is a sample (de-identified) of my data. Any help is greatly appreciated! 

Check InRoomedPatient ID
11/27/20 12:17 AM11/27/20 12:37 AM1
11/27/20 12:42 AM11/27/20 12:45 AM2
11/27/20 1:14 AM11/27/20 1:22 AM3
11/27/20 1:28 AM11/27/20 1:33 AM4
11/27/20 1:37 AM11/27/20 1:44 AM5
11/27/20 3:44 AM11/27/20 3:47 AM6
11/27/20 4:57 AM11/27/20 5:15 AM7
11/27/20 4:58 AM11/27/20 5:09 AM8
11/27/20 5:05 AM11/27/20 5:18 AM9
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

try this.

Pay attention to how times like 12:05 AM are interpreted

PS

The solution works on the assumption that the wait does not last more than a day.

I really hope, for the patients, that they don't have to be so patient. 😁

PPS

version 4 aims to be much more general. test it!

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

another differente solution and view

Anonymous
Not applicable