Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

IceCreamInv
Regular Visitor

Allergen Storage Verification Project

To the good members of the Power BI community - 

I'm fairly new to Power BI, with no formal training in it. I'm half-way decent at Excel, but only due to experience using it. Some of my formulas may be a bit convoluted, since I pieced them together as needed. Feel free to suggest simpler formulas. 

I'm trying to develop a tool that I can use to call out any on hand items that are stored incorrectly due to mismatching allergens or GMO status. 

For those who haven't worked in food manufacturing (using US standards), here's a quick explanation using 7 items that I will use as an example: 

• Item A is a building block ingredient that has no major allergens. 
  • Item B contains Dairy.
  • Item C contains Dairy and Wheat. 
  • Item D contains Dairy and Peanuts.
  • Item E contains Wheat and Peanuts
  • Item F is Certified Non-GMO. 
  • Item G is Certified Non-GMO and contains Dairy.

These items are stored in a warehouse setting where there are multiple levels of storage racking. For food safety, items with allergens must be stored in a way that new new allergens are introduced by the items stored above it, in case of damaged packaging or spills. For example, Item B can be stored directly above Item C, but not vice versa, since C could introduce Wheat to Item B if damaged or spilled. Neither item can be stored above or below item E because Peanuts are a completely different allergen and it does not contain Dairy.