Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MarcusJBrubaker
Frequent Visitor

Cannot Delete Lakehouse Issue

Yesterday I tried to delete some old test Lakehouses and was met with the error "This item couldn't be deleted. Please try again later." I'm able to delete other objects as normal. As a test I created a brand new Lakehouse using one of the sample datasets and I cannot delete this one either. I also tried this in my personal Fabric trial tenant where I'm a full admin. Again, I can't delete a Lakehouse. 

The two different tenants are in West US and South Central US(Texas). 

Is anyone else having this issue?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
MarcusJBrubaker
Frequent Visitor

Update: If I first delete the one-time pipeline used to populate the Lakehouse, I'm able to delete the Lakehouse. It's like Fabric sees that something is connected to the Lakehouse and won't let me delete it. Is this expected behavior?

I tested again by creating a Lakehouse with a copy data pipeline, and a completely blank Lakehouse. The blank Lakehouse deleted with no problem. The other lakehouse would not delete until I deleted the associated pipeline first.

View solution in original post

29 REPLIES 29
farukc
Employee
Employee

Documentation is updated about deleting the lakehouse  : Create a lakehouse - Microsoft Fabric | Microsoft Learn

--------------------------------------------

Delete a lakehouse

To delete a lakehouse, navigate to OneLake data hub and find your lakehouse. select the ... next to the lakehouse name and select Delete. The lakehouse and its associated SQL analytics endpoint and semantic model are deleted.

Note

A lakehouse can't be deleted if it's referenced elsewhere, for example, in a pipeline or within a real time analytics workflow.

--------------------------------------------

marcuspaivio