Restrict manual deployment when using deployment pipelines
An issue we have come across when using deployment pipelines is that often businesses want to use them to restrict manual uncontrolled deployments or changes in production.
However, since those with access to run the pipeline must have access to edit content in the workspace they are deploying to, there is nothing to stop them modifying the models or reports in the production environment, which would result in these being out of sync with other environments.
The deployment pipelines are currently acting as an aid for deployment, rather than providing governance and control over it.
Is there any possibility in the future to enable an option when setting up a deployment pipeline that prevents changes to higher environments through any methods other than through the correct deployment pipeline process?
i.e. when a change is made, it has to be deployed to dev, and then can only be pushed to test and prod through the pipeline
1 Comment
- fbcideas_migusrNew MemberStatus added:Needs Votes
Recent ideas
Support VNet data gateway connections in Power BI Report Builder (Get data / Power Query)
Power BI Report Builder can't use a VNet data gateway connection. In Get data (Power Query), the Data gateway field shows "none" and can't be changed, so the query goes straight to the source over th...ilia_ryzhkov6 hours agoNew MemberNew17Views2likes0CommentsOption to set custom width for gridlines OR fixed outer padding
When designing reports, using the align and distribute evenly options in the format pane are useful, however when designing report pages with fixed bleeds between visuals I have to follow these steps...IolaWhiteley15 hours agoAdvocate IINew5Views0likes0CommentsDefault Scrollable Time-Series Charts to Most Recent Data
Currently, Power BI time-series charts always open scrolled to the earliest (leftmost) date by default, which is inconvenient for reports where users are interested in the most recent (rightmost) dat...CStillwell16 hours agoNew MemberNew22Views2likes1CommentOption to Stop Fabric Planning Billing Session After Plan Item Deletion
Currently, a Fabric Planning session remains active for 30 days once triggered. If a user creates a Plan item only for testing and deletes it the next day, the billing session still continues and c...v-dugumarrir117 hours agoMicrosoft EmployeeNew47Views11likes1Comment