Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JamesMinton
Frequent Visitor

Need help - Embedding RLS in GenerateTokenRequestV2Report - BadRequest

Hello,  

First time posting! 

I'm having troubles when trying to add RLS in my Power Bi embedding application.

This is how my application was working before trying to add RLS 

powerBi1.PNG

I then tried to do the following 

PowerBi2.PNG

(Side note : the username and roles are just testing, I'm not sure what I'm going to put there yet, I just want to see the token generate again)

This code not BadRequest errors on the pbliClient.EmbedToken.GenerateToken(tokenRequest); line

Does anyone have any ideas of where I'm going wrong? I'm new to PowerBi Embedding 

Thanks for your time,  

James

2 REPLIES 2
JamesMinton
Frequent Visitor

Thank you for your reply!

Any idea why I might be getting that BadRequest error though?

v-jianboli-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @JamesMinton ,

With Row Level Security (RLS), the identity you use can be different from the identity of the service principal or master user you're using to generating the token. By using different identities, you can display embedded information according to the user you're targeting. For example, in your application you can ask users to sign in, and then display a report that only contains sales information if the signed in user is a sales employee.