Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ghouse_peer
Post Patron
Post Patron

fiscal month task

Hello , I am new to power bi, kindly  tell me how to Create a Total Sales variance % for all the Fiscal Months of the year..

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ghouse_peer ,

You may create relationship between the table "Time" and Sales, then create measures like DAX below.

Current Month Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Regular_sales])+ SUM(Sales[Markdown_sales]),DATESMTD('Time'[Date]))

Last Month Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Regular_sales])+ SUM(Sales[Markdown_sales]),DATESMTD(dateadd('Time'[Date],-1,MONTH)))

Variance %= IF([Last Month Sales ]<>BLANK(), DIVIDE([Current Month Sales],[Last Month Sales], 0)-1,0)

Then you may choose table or Matrix to display the result, and format the  data type of 'Time'[Date] as "yyyy-mm".

Best Regards,

Amy 

Community Support Team _ Amy

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
v-xicai
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @ghouse_peer ,

You may create relationship between the table "Time" and Sales, then create measures like DAX below.

Current Month Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Regular_sales])+ SUM(Sales[Markdown_sales]),DATESMTD('Time'[Date]))

Last Month Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Regular_sales])+ SUM(Sales[Markdown_sales]),DATESMTD(dateadd('Time'[Date],-1,MONTH)))

Variance %= IF([Last Month Sales ]<>BLANK(), DIVIDE([Current Month Sales],[Last Month Sales], 0)-1,0)

Then you may choose table or Matrix to display the result, and format the  data type of 'Time'[Date] as "yyyy-mm".

Best Regards,

Amy 

Community Support Team _ Amy