Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

rdbjay

Urgent -Connecting to excel saved on a remote desktop server

Hi I'm a newbie to here,

I do have a Power Bi data model which has data connected through API to SQL data tables stored in a remote desktop server. At the moment I've set up an on-premises gateway on the server and all my APIs are perfectly refreshing through it. 

Now, I need to add a new data source which is an Excel sheet stored in a folder on the Remote desktop server. How do I set up this? I need to add the table in Excel to my existing Power Bi data model which all other data tables are connected through APIs.

I'm developing this data model on my local computer's Power Bi desktop. So obviously I can't simply open the Get Data>Excel and give the file path as the Excel file is not saved on my local drive. Due to security reasons storing files on one drive or file share is not an option at the moment.

Please help me experts!

6 REPLIES 6
Adamboer
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

To add an Excel sheet stored on a remote desktop server to your existing Power BI data model, you can follow these steps:

1. Open Power BI Desktop and go to "Home" tab.

2. Click on "Get Data" and then select "More".

3. Choose "File" under the "Other" section and click on "Connect".

4. In the "File Path" field, enter the network path to the Excel file on the remote desktop server. For example, \ServerName\SharedFolderName\FileName.xlsx.

5. Click on "OK" to load the Excel data into Power BI Desktop.

6. Now, you need to merge the Excel data with your existing data model. You can do this by going to "Home" tab, selecting "Combine Queries" and then choosing "Merge Queries".

7. In the "Merge Queries" dialog box, select your existing data model as the first table and the Excel data as the second table.