Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PowerBiKing
Frequent Visitor

Trying to link two different postcode columns to lookup table

Hi,

I work in the higher education sector and I'm trying to perform a geographical region analysis for both university applicants and the school they are currently at.

I have an 'Applications' table with a many to one relationship with a postcode lookup table that contains all of the postcodes in the UK, and their respective regions. This relationship is based on the "Applicant postcode" from the "Applications" table. This is working as intended, for example I can count the number of applications and applicants by UK region.

However, I would also like to count the number of schools by region (the "Applications" table also contains "Applicant school" and "Applicant school postcode" columns).

I thought that by creating a new table containing a distinct list of the schools and their postcodes, and creating one to many relationships between this "School" table and both "Applicants" and "Postcode lookup" table, I might be able to acheive what I'm looking for, but I get the following error:

"You can't create a direct active relationship between "School" and "Postcode lookup" because that would introduce ambiguity between tables "Postcode lookup" and "Applications"."

I would appreciate any help with this. I have heard the INTERSECT function may be of use but I'm not sure how to use it in this context.

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I've been able to get to a solution that seems to work.

This way I created a custom applications measure using INTERSECT (syntax below). The Applications and Postcode tables are linked on the School postcode in the data model, so I can use this measure in the report that describes applications by region based on Student postcodes.