Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn a 50% discount on the DP-600 certification exam by completing the Fabric 30 Days to Learn It challenge.

themissingelf
Frequent Visitor

The basics of ranking...

I'm a complete DAX novice (in fact, less than a novice...) but I think I need to find out more about this new language... Starting with ranking...

I have a table something like this:

STORE                 DEPARTMENT                SPACE            SALES            MARGIN

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BRANCH A          TOYS                             1000               30000             15000

BRANCH A          HOMEWARES                 500                 5000               2500

BRANCH A          BEDDING                      2000                40000            20000

BRANCH B          TOYS                             1000               30000             15000

BRANCH B          HOMEWARES                 500                 5000               2500

BRANCH B          BEDDING                      1000                25000            12500

In a Power BI report I want to display the rank of Branch B based on the total space as follows:

STORE                TOTAL SPACE        RANK

BRANCH B              2500                     2

I would like this to be calculated based on a Report Level filter or slicer so the list of branches can be varied and the rank changes accordinlgy.

Grateful for help to get me started!

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-haibl-msft
Employee
Employee

@themissingelf

You can try with following Measure formula.

Rank = 
RANKX ( ALLSELECTED ( Table1[STORE] ), CALCULATE ( SUM ( Table1[SPACE] ) ) )

The basics of ranking_1.jpgThe basics of ranking_2.jpg

Best Regards,

Herbert

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
v-haibl-msft
Employee
Employee

@themissingelf

You can try with following Measure formula.

Rank =