Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ceane
Regular Visitor

Syntax error in new Measure (SUMX & FILTER)

Hi,  I'm new to PowerBI, but relatively profficient in excel. However no experience with DAX formulas.

I am creating a BI dashboard based on some financial data, and I'm trying to create a new measure using a combo of SUMX & FILTER functions, but clearly I don't understand the syntax properly. This is the situation.

I have a query that looks somthing like this:

CurrencyCost TypeDivisionLocationDateAmount
AUDTotal Employment CostChemistryAfrica1/01/2015500
AUDEBITBiologyEurope1/01/2015400
AUDNet RevenueScienceAsia1/01/2015300
AUDTECGardeningNorth America1/01/2015200
AUDEBITChemistrySouth America1/01/2015500
USDNet RevenueBiologyAfrica1/01/2015600
USDTECScienceEurope1/01/2015200
USDEBITGardeningAsia1/01/2015100
etcetcetcetcetcetc

Each location has an EBIT, TEC and Net Revenue Value, in USD & AUD.

I would like to create a new Measure (Cost Base) = Revenue - EBIT, and a second Measure (Other Costs) = Cost Base - TEC.

To do this I've tried:

Cost Base = sumx(filter('Cost Types','Cost Types'[Cost Type]=EBIT),'Cost Types'[Amount])  

But I keep getting errors.  I'm pretty sure they revolve around the "EBIT" but I'm not sure how to resolve. And I haven't even attempted the second part of the equation yet: do i do sumx - sumx?

The end goal is to create a stacked bar graph over time, with TEC:OtherCosts:EBIT where the total = revenue. This graph will be sliced by currency, division and location.

Is any of this possible?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @Ceane,