Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Sum of Certain Rows

First, I just want to say I'm new to Power BI and DAX for that matter. Below I've put a bit of sample data of what I'm trying to accomplish. I'm trying to sum the usage of a certain person on a given date (Total column is what I'm trying to accomplish).

Sample Data.png

But below is what I'm getting.

More Sample Data.png

The DAX formula that I'm using is: Total = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Usage]), DISTINCT('Table'[Date]), DISTINCT('Table'[Person]))

I've been trying to solve this for the last two days and can't figure out why it's not summing the way I want it to... Please help!!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
JarroVGIT
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi @Anonymous ,

Your DAX expression does indeed not lead to the expected results. The solution of @Tahreem24  is also not working, as you cannot use EARLIER() in a measure. However, you can use it in a Calculated Column.

Try the following DAX in a calculated column:

Total =
VAR currentRowDate = 'Table'[Date]
VAR currentPerson = 'Table'[Person]
RETURN
CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Usage]), FILTER(Table, 'Table'[Date] = currentRowDate && 'Table'[Person] = currentPerson))

If you want to understand what this does, let me know! I wrote it out so it is the most readable for you 🙂

Kind regards

Djerro123

-------------------------------

If this answered your question, please mark it as the Solution. This also helps others to find what they are looking for.

Kudo's are welcome 🙂

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

Create a measure like below :
Total = CALCULATE (SUM(Table[Usage]), Filter(Table, Table[Datecolumn]=Earlier(Table[Datecolumn ] )&&Table [Person] =Earlier (Table[Person])))